Who are the Lea Bridge and Grove Green council by-election candidates?

Tomorrow, residents in Lea Bridge Ward and Grove Green Ward can each vote for a new councillor. Here’s who is on the ballot…

Stock image (Credit: Unsplash/Element5 Digital)

Following London’s May elections, two new Waltham Forest councillors will be chosen in June – one for Lea Bridge Ward and another for Grove Green Ward. 

Polls for both elections will be open tomorrow, on Thursday 10th June, from 7am until 10pm. 

The Grove Green by-election is being held following the unexpected April passing of Cllr Chris Robbins CBE, who had served the Leyton ward since 2002, in addition to his work as former council leader and most recent Mayor of Waltham Forest. 

Candidates include Labour’s Uzma Rasool, Conservative Shahamima Khan, Green Mark Stephen Dawes, Lib Dem Arran Angus and Kevin Parslow of the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition. 

Polling stations will be located at Grange Park United Reformed Church, Trinity Methodist Church and Christ Apostolic Church. 

In Lea Bridge, Labour’s Jennifer Whilby will be up against Conservative Sazimet Imre, Lib Dem Naomi McCarthy, Independent candidate Claire Weiss and Green RoseMary Warrington. 

Three polling stations will be set up at Lea Bridge Library, Emmanuel Parish Church and All Saints’ Church.