Hatch Lane Ward candidates for council by-election revealed

(Credit: Element5 Digital/Unsplash)

Residents of Hatch Lane Ward can choose between four candidates on 6th May, reports Elizabeth Atkin…

Hatch Lane Ward in Chingford will be able to vote for one new councillor on 6th May 2021.

Voters in the area – totalling 8,655 people, according to Waltham Forest Council – will be asked to choose between candidates:

Currently, two Conservative councillors serve Hatch Lane: Marion Fitzgerald and Tim James.

The ward’s third Conservative councillor, Geoff Walker, died on 21st March 2020 – after 26 years on the council. Throughout his long career, he also served as Mayor of Waltham Forest for 2011-2012.

His death prompted the by-election, which comes a year prior to the 2022 London local elections – during which all Waltham Forest Council seats will be put to a public vote.

Voting on 6th May will take place between 7am and 10pm, at three key E4 polling stations: Handsworth Primary School (E4 9PJ), Longshaw Primary Academy School (E4 6LH) and Whitehall Primary School (E4 6ES).

Another polling station, St Andrew’s Church on Chingford Lane (IG8 9QP), is in Woodford Green.

Currently, Hatch Lane Ward is one of six Waltham Forest wards served by Chingford MP Sir Iain Duncan Smith.